Tags

,

Two weeks later, I think I’ve just about recovered from the Brooklyn Half Marathon. Though I haven’t run more than 3 miles at a time since then, so I can’t be 100% sure.

It was a great race with perfect overcast 60 degree weather. We were hoping for a strong 8:15 to 8:30 min/mile pace, but were a little wary since we’d ramped up our training mileage pretty quickly and were coming off busy weeks of work and traveling. It was also the biggest field of runners ever (over 20,000 of us) so we weren’t sure how that would affect our speed.

Well we certainly surprised ourselves by PR’ing! My official time was 1:47:23, which came out to a pace of 8:12/mile. I came in 5394th place, out of 21,378 finishers. I’ll take it!

We were also remarkably consistent throughout, with each 5K split at roughly 25 min. Here’s how it shook out:

Distance         5K                       10K                       15K                       20K

Time          0:25:33             0:51:56              1:17:26             1:42:20

Now I think it’s time to sign up for our next one. We have three weddings to go to in September this year, so we’re going to have to pass on our October standby. Any suggestions for a replacement?

We had also been planning psyching ourselves up to finally run a full marathon next year, with our eye on Boston 2014. It routes right past our alma mater, and my aunt and uncle live a mile from the starting line for extra convenience. However…I think next year is not the right time for that. So I’ll take suggestions for a full marathon, too.

What are your thoughts on running? I never pictured myself ever running more than a mile at a time. Sometimes we surprise ourselves :)

