Tags

GBS Quote

That was the quote I chose for my high school senior yearbook. I’m not quite sure how I found it; I may have just googled “quotes” and browsed through a few web pages. But as each year goes by, it has felt more and more true.

Isn’t it exciting to think that you can make yourself whatever you want to be, and being true to yourself just means doing things you enjoy, even if they keep changing? I think it’s a bit of a misconception that somewhere there’s a ‘you’ that needs to be uncovered before you can figure it all out – that there is something you are ‘meant to be’. Sure, there may be characteristics you’re predisposed to, but life is all about change and growth!

My husband and I share a lot of the same interests. We’re long-distance runners, we love reading and cooking, eating good, local food and splitting a bottle of red wine. We have similar political/social views, and our perspectives on finances line up quite well. I’ve often wondered whether these things are a coincidence – did we get lucky and happen to find someone who fit us so well?

But (after applying the above quote) I’ve decided that we were both relatively young, blank canvases when we started dating, and have actually created most of these interests and opinions together. I used to STRUGGLE running a mile in gym class, and now we do this for fun?? Looking externally, half marathons are having a heyday, eating sustainably and cooking your own meals is totally in vogue, and all the cool kids are visiting wine bars. The social issues of today are also clearly shifting, with fellow millennials leading the charge. We’ve sort of created ourselves based on the things we love in our environment, things that came of age the same time we did.

There’s something refreshing about realizing there’s no box you have to stay confined to, no interests you have to hold on to because you once liked them. You can create (and re-create) as you grow. You don’t need to be seeking anything — you just have to make it.

Do you have a favorite quote?

